King Prajadhipok Museum is situated in the area of the Department of Public Works and Town & Country Planning Building at the Parn Fah Leelad Bridge. This three-storey registered heritage building was designed by a French-Swiss architect, Charles Beguelin, and built in 1906 with the architecture style in the era of King Rama VI and King Rama VII. It is the museum of King Rama VII's biography and historical events in his reign. In 2001, after having served many different purposes over the years, the Department of Public Works presented the building to King Prajadhipok Institute to be used as a museum exhibiting the biography and achievements of King Rama VII.
Prajadhipok was the 76th (out of 77) child of King Chulalongkorn (Rama V), making him the brother of King Rama VI. He wasn't destined to be king some time and chose to pursue a military career instead. However, when King Rama VI died without heirs and other, better placed, brothers were dead as well, he became King Rama VII. King Prajadhipok ruled as Rama VII just for ten years (1925 - 1935), but his reign marked the end of the absolute monarchy and the beginning of the constitutional monarchy. This makes the king an interesting subject.
A total of nine permanent exhibition halls, located on the 2nd and the 3rd floors showcase the king's life in various aspects from his youth to his death -- the 1932 Revolution and the Conferment of the Constitution, royal regalia and personal effects, photographs, historical documents, and films. Moreover, there are also the stories of the King’s hobbies such as music, sport, movie.